Committee Members

Dr. Julia M. Foght (Chair)

Dr. Foght is Professor Emerita in the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Alberta.  She is a member of the Canadian Society of Microbiologists, the American Society for Microbiology and the International Society for Microbial Ecology.  Her research field is environmental microbiology, focussing on petroleum biodegradation and metagenomic analysis of hydrocarbon resource environments.

Dr. Heather D. Durham

Dr. Durham is a graduate of Western University and the University of Alberta with postdoctoral experience in toxicology and neuroscience at McGill University. She subsequently joined the faculty of  the Montreal Neurological Institute and the Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery at McGill where she currently holds the rank of professor.  Her research has focused on neuromuscular and neurodegenerative disorders. She has held several administrative positions in the university, non-profit organizations and government advisory committees, including President of the Society of Toxicology and Chair of the BCDRC. 

Dr. Pierre G. Potvin

A graduate in Chemistry from the University of Ottawa and McGill University, Dr. Potvin carried out post-doctoral research at the Université Louis-Pasteur in Strasbourg, France, before joining the faculty at York University in Toronto, where he has been teaching and conducting research for over 20 years. He is a member of the Canadian Society for Chemistry and the Chemical Institute of Canada.